Some people yhink the only purpose of prison is to punish crime. Others think it has other functions. Discuss the two views and give your opinion.

There are heated debates over the role prisons play in society. While some people argue that the only aim of prison is punishment, others, including myself, believe that there are other functions which are equally important.

Supporters of the former view have some arguments to justify their position. First of all, they argue it serves as a way to hold people accountable for breaking the law. They think, that sending criminals to prison shows that society shows consequences for crimes. This punishment also is a deterrence for committing crimes, warning people not to break the law.

On the other hand, some people feel that, including myself, prisons should have multiple function. Rehabilitation is one of them. Prisons can offer programs such as education, which help offenders to change their behaviour and reduce the chances of re-offending. Additionally, it can also serve protection by keeping dangerous criminals away from public society. Some also argue that prisons assist to offenders make amends and take responsibility for their actions, which can lead to restoration for both the offenders and their victims.

To sum up, although the punishment of crime is an important role of prison, it should not be the only one. Prisons should aim to rehabilitate, protect the public, and help offenders reintegrate into society for a more balanced and successful approach.