Some peopre think lhot leochers should be responsible for feoching sludenfs to judge whol is right ond wrcng so lhol lhey con behove well. Ofhers say lhot feochers should only teoch sfudenfs ocodemic subjecls. Discuss bofh views ond give your opinion

Since the age of Vedas, teachers have been highly regarded in the society, because of their responsibility of moulding young minds. The opinions about the duties of a teacher are divided. One group of people believe that teachers should instil the sense of right and wrong in the minds of young students while some others are of the opinion that teachers should only focus on academics. In my opinion, teachers have the responsibility of guiding the students to understand the two faces of reality.

One opinion is that teachers should develop students into wise and ethical adults with a clear sense of right and wrong. In the past, students used to stay with their teachers and learn various skills and life lessons. But now teaching and learning is largely confined to schools. From very young age, children spend most of their time at their classrooms rather than at home, giving teachers more time to interact with them.

The other opinion is that in schools, since teachers are already burdened with bureaucratic paper works and they should only focus on completing their academic curriculum. Now a days most schools only care about the marks on the paper and give very little attention to character development.

My opinion is that it’s the teacher’s responsibility to develop the students into ethical and moral citizen from very young age. The profession of teaching is considered highly because of the impact that a teacher has on the minds of the students.

The world today has become fast paced and people are often evaluated by their grades. But still, there is the need for teachers who are committed to develop an ethical society. Only then can the world move forward, overcoming the shackles of terrorism and corruption.