Some peopre think lhot leochers should be responsible for feoching sludenfs to judge whol is right ond wrcng so lhol lhey con behove well. Ofhers say lhot feochers should only teoch sfudenfs ocodemic subjecls. Discuss bofh views ond give your opinion

Some people believe that teachers should shape students’ judgement of what is wrong and right so that they can be responsible adults in society. However some people believe that teachers should only be responsible for academic knowledge, thus should not intervene in shaping students’ moral judgement.

On the on hand, learning from an early age what is right and wrong is beneficial for students in the long run. Students spend the majority of their time at school, therefore teachers can help students develop critical-thinking skills, high moral values and good judgement of what is good and bad. For instance, students that were taught about bad effects of drugs are more likely to avoid drug addiction in the future. Therefore, instilling right morals from an early age helps not only with good behavior, but also makes responsible adults to society.

One the other hand, some people believe that the sole purpose of teachers should be providing students with academic knowledge. It is believed that parents should discipline their children as they have authority over them. With a collapse in job market and increase of graduating students every year, students with deep academic knowledge in a specific field are quite needed. Students that focused more on academic knowledge and difficult subjects like geometry, algebra, chemistry are more likely to be relevant in a job market. Moreover, as time goes on this students are able to learn to distinguish what is right and wrong in a functioning society.

In a nutshell, integrating both deep academic knowledge and high moral values are both equally important in raising future generations. While academic knowledge helps students be successful in a job market, learning to distinguish good and bad helps them lead a meaningful life.