some research shows that overeating can have bad effects on health. Some believe that advertisements of certain foods should be banned in the same manner that some countries banned cigarrates. do you agree or disagree

In contemporary life, people believe that advertising related to particular food products should be prohibited in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes is banned since individuals tend to believe that smoking and overeating bring the same level of harmfulness. While acknowledging that overeating exerts numerous negative drawbacks, advertising of certain food products still plays an important role in human lives.

To begin with, overeating is not as detrimental as smoking in affecting human health conditions. Firstly, smoking is directly linked to a higher risk of life-threatening conditions such as lung cancer, heart disease and respiratory issues. Meanwhile, overeating is associated with conditions such as obesity and diabetes, which do not always lead to such life-threatening consequences. Secondly, smoking not only poses a risk to the smoker but also to those passively exposed to secondhand smoke. Overeating, in contrast, does not cause the same direct negative influences on the health of others.

Based on the above reasons, the advertising of certain food products should not be banned like cigarettes. Unlike cigarettes, which are universally harmful and bring no nutritional value, several foods are beneficial for consumers’ health with essential nutrition, which makes a blanket ban on advertising of food products may confuse consumers while choosing between healthier and less healthy options. Moreover, the food industry is a major contributor to the economy, unfolding a myriad of employment opportunities for individuals and generating revenue. A ban on advertising certain foods could lead the government to lose a huge amount of tax revenue from advertising agencies. Additionally, prohibiting advertising would make it extremely hard for consumers to access valuable information about the products they wish to purchase and distinguish the high-quality goods among the diverse market.

In conclusion, since overeating is not as detrimental as smoking due to a wide range of reasons, a ban on the advertising of certain food products should not be imposed in the same way as cigarettes.