Some say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions for tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In the era of globalization and tourism, the role of cultural tradition has become a subject of debate. While some argue that turning these traditions into lucrative tourist attractions leads to their degradation, others contend that it is a necessary way for their preservation. This essay will analyze both perspectives.

To begin with, when cultural traditions are made to become tourist attractions, they will lose their identity and pristine condition. Indeed, tourism has placed unnecessary stress on local customs as they must attract tourists by changing the authenticity of the culture. Specifically, local communities in an attempt to cater to the palates of a global audience, often modify the flavors and ingredients of traditional dishes. Most notably, due to the commercialization of tourism, the number of people traveling without any consideration for tourist preservation is increasing day by day. As a result, some sacred sites have been damaged by tourism, endangering their cultural significance. For example, many pagodas and churches have been vandalized by irresponsible tourists.

On the other hand, there are convincing reasons why capitalizing on cultural traditions is considered as the only way to safeguard them. Firstly, developing cultural tourism has made an important contribution to bringing many benefits in terms of income for preserving traditions. Specifically, cultural tourism attracts visitors who spend money on various activities, including accommodation, food and entrance fees to cultural sites. As a result, the revenue generated from such activities can be transformed back into the preservation of these traditions. Furthermore, as cultural tourism grows, many more jobs are created in various sectors such as tour guides, transportation, etc. Thus, this helps reduce unemployment and provides individuals with potential opportunities.

In conclusion, capitalizing on cultural traditions as profit-generating attractions has both advantages and disadvantages for their preservation.