Some say that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time, because it has no direct connection with people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that despite the internet becoming the dominant medium for sharing news in many countries, it will not become a universal source of news since most people still read newspapers. While I do admit the profound role that newspapers play in allowing people to access up-to-date information, I still think that they are increasingly losing their relevance in the era of technologies.

Newspapers remain popular even today because people in many places around the world do not have the access to the internet or cannot use it freely. Although the internet has been seen as an everyday necessity for more than a decade in the developed world, in many less developed areas this technology is in its infancy. People in such areas have an unstable connection to the internet or do not have it in the first place, so they have no other choice than using newspapers. Furthermore, the internet is a relatively new invention, with many people, and older people in particular, not understanding how to use it. Older generation, therefore, prefers to read news on paper even if they have internet connection because it is simpler and much more convenient.

However, I would argue that newspapers will eventually lose their positions to the internet. Firstly, internet coverage is expanding exponentially, allowing more and more people to access online news websites from year to year. The world is not too far from becoming completely connected to the internet, and when this does happen, everybody will be already familiar with the technology and do not need newspapers. Secondly, newspapers are extremely slow in updating information. It usually takes a long time from a news article being written by a journalist to its publication in an upcoming issue, whereas news on the internet can be updated in split-second. In the world where everything is changing at an unprecedented speed, newspapers will simply not keep up with the pace of changes.

In conclusion, newspapers indeed remain the primary source of news in many areas throughout the world. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that the internet will certainly take the lead in the future since it has its coverage expanding at a dramatic speed and provides the access to truly up-to-date information.