Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages for their study?

It is essential to get a period of gap before joining a university for higher studies to students. Some students how took this gap to fulfill their dreams like traveling and working instead of higher studies in universities. In this context, there are several benefits as well as drawbacks associated with this.

A group of students of this generation prioritize the exploration of life rather than going directly to universities for higher studies. The first and foremost benefit of choosing work life or traveling is they will get proper experience in the respective fields. Another one is they will become independent from their younger age. The majority of the students depend on their parents for each and every need. Sometimes the university fees, living costs, and everything else may lead to a burden on their parents. We can mitigate such situations by engaging in work or any other activities to an extent. Another benefit is, that there is a chance of meeting a lot of people, maybe they are very successful in their field. The students get a lot of inspiration from such individuals and help them build their life goals.

Like the benefits, there are some disadvantages too. They will be treated as students without any graduation in any core field. It leads to getting basic jobs rather than professional jobs. It causes the reduction of expected salary and lack of respect and sometimes leads to unemployment. Family pressure, depression, and problems with the success of peer friends are some of the problems for youngsters, who choose a work and travel career rather than university life. Also, the younger ones may be cheated because of their age.

To put it in a nutshell, It is clear that there are a lot of advantages as well as disadvantages regarding the school leavers who took traveling as well as work as a career without choosing university life. advantages include sufficient experience, an independent life, and inspiration from successful individuals. The disadvantages include a lack of professional jobs, salary, and personal issues especially being cheated by the experienced ones because of their age.