Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages for their study?

Many students usually take a gap year for going on an around-the-world trip or a full time job rather than heading to college for higher education at once. There will be both benefits and drawbacks they may face and even pay for their decisions.

On the one hand, backpacking all over the world without parental care or seeking jobs are incredible opportunities for school leavers to step out of their comfort zone and broaden their horizons. Landing in different countries and meeting people from all walks of life are not only about cultural exchange but also the attendance in volunteer activities which are surely a contributing factor to gain valuable skills outside schools. Besides, obtaining a job for work experience provides them the sense of independence and maturity, giving them the chance to figure out their real potentials and interests so as to shape their mindset about future career.

On the other hand, pausing their further studies to travel or work is likely to be a risky choice. Gap-year takers may cope with financial problems in case their parents are not supportive. As a result, all the money they do for living can be insufficient enough to manage a wide range of expenses on their place-to-place journey. What is more, finding jobs after leaving schools are quite challenging to them due to their inexperience which means they earn little money from these demanding jobs and traumatically tackle high living cost as well as saving for entering university.

In conclusion, taking a gap year brings young students both merits and demerits to some certain extent. The option to delay for college enrollment is considered as an unconventional path but appears to be an effective way of exploring their perspectives and boosting them better prepare for college life.