Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

With the rise in global warming and climate change, many species of animals are at the verge of extinction. Some are endangered and approaching extinction at a fast pace. Global warming and climate change are the two major concerns for these vulnerable animals. However, many small factors contribute to global warming. In addition to this, human interference is another huge reason for the lives of innocent animals being at risk.

A great example of this is deforestation. The personal needs of humans have resulted in many tress being cut down, resulting in the loss of habitat for the fauna present there. For instance, many forests have been lost for the construction of factories and residential places. Deforestation also contributes to global warming as no trees are present to purify the environment. Loss of trees result in less rain and more of acidic rain. To prevent deforestation, the government should intervene and formulate tough laws against agencies who cut down forests. Proper guidelines should be in place to prevent deforestation and allow afforestation.

As mentioned earlier, climate change has an enormous impact on the lives of animals. In colder regions like the arctic, many ice glaciers and ice bergs have been melted. This has resulted in many animals found there like the polar bears, snow leopards and penguins to lose shelter. This in turn leads to a decline in their numbers. We as humans can take many firm steps to prevent climate change and save our wildlife. Taking small steps such as using public transport instead of private vehicles, recycling and reusing plastic, switching to electric cars and adopting eco-friendly methods for industralisation can all help to reduce our carbon footprints.

Humans and animals together form the living domain of the earth and it is therefore our utmost responsibility to prevent extinction of these animals and allow life to thrive.