Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

In recent years, video games have rissen in popularity among students, while sports are growing out of favore. I believe this is due to the increase in accessibility and the lower barier of entery of computer games. Therefore, making sports accessible will solve this issue.

Most of the popular sports require a large physical space and equipments to create the games, while video games only need devices to participate. Furthermore, while most sporting games need a group of children to play, computer games can be played with a single person, and if that person want to play with other people, he has access to players around the world not just those in his area. For instance, if children want to play football, each team needs 4 to 11 players and a football field. However, if they play FIFA (a football video game) one or few of them can join a global game using only their computers or even phones.

Therefore, to combat this issue sports need to be more accessible, and this might require building facilities, creating teams, and offering discounted or free equipments for children. It is challenging to make physical games as widely available as computer games, but the gap should be narrowed to encourage student participation.

In conclusion, I contend that the main reason pupils choose digital games over sports is due to their availability, so fxing this problem will motivate them to change their habit.