Some systems require students to specialize in a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen. Other systems require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of these two education systems and which is better?

Currently in the world, there are two different doctrines regarding how wide a pupil aged fifteen should be learning. Some say that it is important for students to partake in a wide range of subjects, until they graduate at least, while others argue that a limit on how much is needed. Overall, these ways of thinking both hold some merits, along with their drawbacks. This essay will discuss them in detail.

First, regarding the belief that a restriction on the number of subjects is an absolute must, this may prove advantageous in a few ways. By doing so, the kids are encouraged to focus on just a few courses that they fancy studying or find themselves excelling at. This might, in turn, result in an increase in grades, constitute itself as a foundation for choosing a future career. But this is not without its downsides, however, since the children have not spent much time indulging in other topics, their score as a whole might not be that impressive, as they are excellent at some but are clueless about the others. Their understanding regarding a variation of topics might also be affected.

As for the case where the youngsters are spreading their effort evenly among the masses, their understanding and their knowledge will surely, in turn, be expanding in numerous fields, in contrast to the method mentioned above. Their grades will, naturally, experience less of such a towering inconsistency. This, however, being in the same vein of imposing limits, also holds some troubles. The first of which being the hardships encountered when the child is trying to figure out what they like, which might lead to some problems since it is a crucial factor in determining what kind of job they want in the future. The next one is the procession of information. Not all kids are equipped to learn so many things at once for some may find it being a sweat while trying to do so.

In conclusion, both of these models of education are carrying with them both advantages and disadvantages. It is vital that the children should be the ones making the decision on which they prefer, with consultation and guidance from the parents and teachers, of course.