Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that international student exchange is advantageous for all adolescent students. Despite the fact that this program can bring some problems related to homesickness, I believe that the gained knowledge and prospective career development outweigh the demerits.

The primary drawback of international student exchange is that teenagers from other countries might not be aware of the culture they are sent to. The aspects of life, such as the culture, traditions, and beliefs, can vary from country to country. This means that people from different origins may not know some details about how they should behave and interact with local people in other regions. This can result in misunderstandings with the locals, and a minor might feel aloof because he or she is not adjusted to different nations. For example, the majority of teenagers who participated in international student exchange report a high level of homesickness and depression. Nevertheless, an adolescent can adjust to this relatively quickly, so I reckon that this drawback is minor.

The major reason why student exchange between nations can be considered beneficial is that adolescents can gain new skills, such as learning another language, and this helps teenagers to find new career opportunities. Moving abroad temporarily forces a person to learn a new language. The gained skill can provide new job opportunities, because most jobs require multilingual employees. For instance, most Asian citizens are sent to the UK under this program. Consequently, they had learned English, and, as a result, they started working in various large-scale corporations.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that teenagers may miss their home, they can learn a new language and get job opportunities in the future.