Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

The overseas student exchange program would be positive for all adolescent students according to the teachers’ perspective. Although it charges more tuition fees, I believe the positive impacts outweigh the drawbacks because it enhances students’ self-development.

Most study abroad programs require an extra cost which is quite expensive. Many teenage students who want to enroll in this activity encounter obstacles in their finances such as accommodation fees, living costs, and administrative expenses. For example, based on data, the total number of Indonesian students who have participated in international student mobility programs most came from college students. Moreover, the Indonesian government provides subsidies in the form of scholarships to take international student exchange only for university students. That is why adolescent students must finance their own tuition fees for this programme. However, I believe that spending more money on this program will be worth it with the result.

The advantage is the improvement of young students’ personal growth. This is because participants will learn about new cultures that educate them about social skills and soft skills. In addition to this, their mentality becomes stronger and also expands their knowledge. For instance, research finds high school graduates who participated in overseas studies are more successful in their undergraduate education. This is due to their superiority in language, interpersonal skills, and other skills related to life readiness.

In conclusion, although student exchange abroad programs cost more funds, it is crucial to consider the positive outcomes for teenage students’ self quality. For these reasons, the benefits far outnumber the drawbacks.