Some think dangerous extreme sports such as skydiving and rock climbing should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that extreme sports such as skydiving and rock climbing must be forbidden. However, others consider that it can be allowed. I am completely agree with the first statement.

Skydiving and rock climbing are both dangerous extreme sports and should be disabled. The first main reason is probability of being injured on landing. They can have a trauma to the neck, spine, heart-health conditions, dislocations, leg fractures, ankles during landing or freefall such as fail to lift their legs up for landing, accidentally taking a knock at high speeds. More than 62 million jumps were evaluated, with an average of 3,200,000 jumps per year, which showed an average injury rate of 0.044% and an average fatality rate of 0.0011%. For instance, Emma Carey was paralysed from a skydiving accident when the chute didn’t open.

Secondly, possibility of falling of impacting the wall, your belayer, or another climber that can lead to the death. Annually there are around 30 rock climbing-related deaths per year. Of these deaths, 25% are due to rappelling accidents and 30% are due to solo climbing accidents. While some deaths on descent are related to falls, most are linked to extreme fatigue and exhaustion, or sustained exposure to extremely low levels of oxygen. To illustrate,Zach Milligan, Yosemite climber, was found dead near the base of Polar Circus, a famed route above the Icefields Parkway.

To conclude, these two extreme sports are harmful to us and we need to stop engaging in this sport. Consequently, I am of that statements that they are have to be closed.