Some think dangerous extreme sports such as skydiving and rock climbing should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, extreme sports have successfully emerged in popularity, with many people finding, for example, skydiving and rock climbing as sources of adrenaline rushes and thrills. Although some people argue that they should be totally banned mainly due to safety reasons, I partially disagree with such a decision, and this essay will discuss both viewpoints.

The most obvious reason why governments opt to stop these sports is the fact that a large majority of casualties are a result of them, even if they are performed by professionals with full protection gear. This instills a fear among other people, especially those who do not wish to participate in them, about the injury risks involved, even death in some cases. Besides that, it is not an affordable sport as it requires a tremendous amount of investment. Taking skydiving for example, in order for it to happen, a helicopter is a crucial element to acquire, so people favor that those funds might be allocated to either mitigate other societal problems or spent on sports with less injury risks, like soccer.

On the other hand, I strongly believe in everyone’s freedom to do as they please. Such sports require discipline, motivation, and determination. These key elements can help interested athletes to become the best versions of themselves by giving them purpose and goals to accomplish. Furthermore, we cannot overlook the rewarding feeling one must be having after accomplishing such complicated tasks. This is good as it proves that with much dedication to something, nothing is impossible.

To conclude, while extreme sports may involve dangerous risks to participants, rather than jumping to conclusions about banning them, we might address the existing problems by finding solutions to them.