Some think that governments should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, the issue of whether governments should provide for retired individuals has become a debate. While some argue that the authority should focus on providing money and care for the elderly, I do think that individuals should be encouraged to save up for their retirement.

On the one hand, government’s financial support would play a vital role in ensuring the standard quality of life for retired individuals. As people age, their physical and mental health may deteriorate so that they are incapable of working and earn a living. Therefore, they would become vulnerable and require specialized care. For this reason, the governments should establish quality healthcare services, retirement homes and social programs that support to the specific needs of the elderly which ensure they receive the necessary serve and enhance their overall quality of life.

On the one hand, I do believe that individuals should also take responsibility for building up their own retirement savings. To start with, people should be prepared money for their future by establishing their monetary objectives. To be more specific, encouraging personal savings through investing long-term or obtaining social insurance can equip people with the means to support themselves during their retirement years without relying on the public funds. As the results, retired individuals can maintain control over their lives and make choices with their own. Moreover, saving money during working period, people can regard it as a new target and thus exert themselves on their job such as job promotion or salary increment.

In conclusion, while care is essential for specific needs of the elderly, I concur that financial independence empowers individuals to maintain and control their own lives.