Some think that people should not change their jobs while others think they should because it brings advantages for themselves, companies and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As the job market continues to evolve, so do the factors that influence individuals’ career choices. One school of thought holds that job stability should be prioritised, while others assert that frequently changing jobs is more beneficial for individuals, enterprises, and society. While both viewpoints have merit, I lean towards the former.

On the one hand, the argument in favour of career changes is not entirely baseless. Since the COVID-19 pandemic, the economy has stagnated significantly, resulting in personnel reductions in many companies. Consequently, the unemployment rate has increased, making the job market more competitive than ever. However, if individuals frequently change jobs, they can hone diverse skills and acquire extensive knowledge, making them less likely to remain jobless as they can apply for various positions. This is because each job requires unique abilities, which nurtures a new set of skills for employees.

However, I would advocate that employment stability should be taken precedence over job hopping. On an individual level, a steady occupation provides consistent incomes and financial security, leading to reduced anxiety about economic downturns or sudden layoffs. As a result, those who are loyal to their position are able to lay the foundation for future plans, long-term investments or prepare for emergency situations. For companies, having loyal employees can reduce training costs and the risks associated with hiring new workers who lack the necessary expertise and experience.

In conclusion, although opinions about career pathways are mixed, I believe that employment stability should be prioritised over frequently changing jobs. While job-hopping can foster a wide range of expertise, stable employment is more beneficial for individuals in terms of financial security and for enterprises, which can avoid wasting resources on mistakes made by newcomers.