Space exploration is a waste of money. Governments should focus more on addressing public problems instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether allocating a substantial amount of money to research outer space is pointless. While this situation is likely to bring clear benefits, I am of the opinion that it does more harm than good.

Advocates of wasting money for space exploration cite various reasons to support their stance. If government spends more money on space exploration, it creates more jobs for individuals such as building spacecraft and engineering design; they can be employed, earn higher salaries, and discover new things in space, thereby making ends meet, saving up for future emergencies, and investing for their dreams. As a result, they learn financial management, keeping track of their expenses, saving regularly, investing wisely, and avoiding impulsive spending habits, which can not only achieve financial freedom and security but also pursue their favorite activities, provide for their loved ones, and feel a sense of accomplishment and independence. Gone are the days when many people saw the moon and galaxy from Earth, as today’s people can fly to the galaxy, learn new things, and see the moon very close and large.

Despite these arguments, I believe that the drawbacks of spending money on space exploration are more significant. When governments allocate large amounts of money to space research, they focus less on more pressing issues like air pollution, which comes from industry and cars, thus affecting individuals’ health and causing all people to be sick with conditions such as difficulty breathing, fever, and headache. This can ultimately cause an increase in an unhealthy population and a low workforce, which reduces productivity, like gardeners not being able to grow vegetables and fruits. A case in point is my home country of Uzbekistan, where the government does not focus on the environment, and now our country is at the top of the rating by pollution level.

In conclusion, despite valid merits regarding creating universe news, I firmly believe that the downsides – particularly in relation to air pollution and people being sick – are substantially more significant.