Space exploration is a waste of money. Governments should focus more on addressing public problems instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Humanity has achieved traveling planet to planet within our solar system. Since it brings many technological advancements and knowledge of outer space, many countries are ready to invest a big chunk of money in space exploration. Many believe it is worth it, but others think money could be better used within Earth. Considering the fact that humanity has benefited a lot from those explorations, I think it all depends on the country. In newly developing countries, money should be spent on other matters, but in countries which are already passed that stage successfully might get the benefits of space exploration.

In the advanced era of technology, we have reached a point where humanity could explore outer space in the solar system. Being keen to explore, learn more things that we could find on our own planet is the primary reason for these rockets. In the 21st century, Earth now has atmospheric stimulations of other planets, such as nitrogen levels, soil, and gas concentrations of other planets. All those stimulations need a huge amount of data to be gathered. That said, all the world’s most developed countries, China, America, Russia, Japan, and the UK have launched rockets into space. Based on the data that has been gathered during those expeditions, scientists could analyze them and make comparisons with our planet to discover something beneficial to the planet Earth. One example could be the discovery of a new water purification system, which was discovered and put to use in space stations.

Although space exploration may bring some advancements, the major downsides of it would be the cost and the risks. Launching a rocket is so expensive that it might affect one developed country’s economy. Adding to that, even after building a spacecraft, there is a chance that it will fail. That being said, reallocating the money to other things would be a wiser choice in many countries, especially densely populated ones. There a many aspects of citizen life that could be improved by the government focusing on them: better quality of life; improved health care; and having access to world-class education all around the country; building a sustainable, eco-friendly country. If one of those examples is a major issue in one particular country, spending money on that problem is a better choice than a space exploration.

Already developed countries might be able to send a spacecraft into space each year, but developing countries should not focus on space exploration. There are 110 countries out of 202 that still see poverty as a major problem. Logically, the government should be concerned about fighting against poverty, and building a strong society should be the primary focus, instead of trying to launch its own satellite. For example, the Singaporean government refuses to spend any money on space exploration in the next 50 years. The reason is that it is a highly populated country, so investing more in housing and vegetation in the country is the primary goal for now.

In conclusion, depending on the country itself, space exploration might cause no harm to the nation, but in countries with some socioeconomic issues, it might be a bad decision. In the latter countries, money should be regulated to make life better for its citizens and must be spent to develop the country by handling other problems within itself.