Spending time online has affected the communication skills of young people both positively and negatively.Discuss the effects of increased online activity on communication skills

In today’s rapidly changing world, the approaches towards communication are evolving and types of interaction also becoming more and more modern and digitalized. This trend is closely related to the use of online tools. In this essay I will explore why this might be and what effects it may cause.

Above all, people get used to live with gadgets and the communication with the help of online services is one of the most important features of such lifestyle. It simplifies the interaction as a whole: makes it faster and more convenient. Nowadays a certain person spends less much energy and time on messaging and searching for information than before. First of all, this type of behaviour is significantly widespread among young people who grew up in the century of digital technologies. Secondly, the popularity of internet communication and online services may be just caused by the increase of advertising by companies which are promoting their products. In this case, such companies as WhatsApp, Snapchat, Facebook are offering instant messaging through voice, text and video with a number of different tools which are attracting people and making them feel comfortable to stay in touch everywhere.

The effects of spending a lot of time online can be serious and are becoming a worrying trend, however. The over communication and full leisure in the internet, without physical activity and meetings, can be a reason for loss of communicative skills and connection with real world. Many teenagers nowadays, for instance, are reported to have quite a lot of phobias from leaving their home to talking to strangers in the street. Psychologists noted that for many of us staying at home is equal to feeling secure. Moreover, social media give more freedom and confidence while messaging and some people can barely act this way in real life after that. Perhaps, it could be argued that such behaviour has already become normal and many people interact and spend time this way. However, the worst scenario could be in suspension from reality by people.

In conclusion, the society is progressing in a way of using various approaches connected with digital and online implementations. Humanity is currently experiencing a global trend, with which we will live and work with for a long time to come. Foremost, it is the responsibility of younger generation to maintain balance between the Internet and real life contacts.