Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Despite the development of the society, language has always played an important role in human life. As the major means of communication; language is the key for human to share thoughts and connect with each others. When it comes to exchanging information, the question whether spoken communication or written communication is more important is still a debatable topic. In my opinion, I think that both methods are both effective forms of communication, depends on the specific circumstance since each option has each pros and cons.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that speaking surely is an extremely form of communication. First, oral communication enables people to emotionally connect with their listeners effective. Oral communication include not only spoken words but also each person’s body language which include eye contact, mannerisms, emotions, face facials, ect,… More specific, sometimes, if word is not enough, just by facing each others, the eyes never lie. Second, speaking about spoken communication, the tone is a part that can’t be neglected. The tone of someone’s voice convey a lot of emotions: positive, negative, neutral, and everything in between, which can directly affect the one they are facing. In “Sleep Well” by d4dv, the low tone, slow melody make the ballad so heartbreaking and appealing that it become a phenomenon. Last but not least, listening helps people to remember and comprehend more. According to some research, by communicating through coral communication, the words would be considered more memorable by our brain. Thus, through communication face to face, we can vibe with each other easier.

On the other hand, writing is also be an constructive tool in everyday communication. There is no way a useless things can become the a popular tool in human life. To begin with, written commucation is saved and hardly be changed so it is considered more reliable. Written messages, emails, and documents are effective tools to save the contract in business for a reason. Thus, people have more time to think, camly about what to write, so communication between human will be calmer since the situation like miscommunication due to anger can be reduced. Moreover, Written language is a means by which the history of a civilization can be passed down to future generations. The drawing on Trongdong, peoms, songs, the story of Vietnamese heroes, the magnificent past of the country,… those cutural treasures can survive till today throughout the history of thousands year thanks to written languages. Can spoken language help something last for thousands of years? Written language can.

In conclusion, both spoken and written form of communication have their own uses, benefits and drawbacks. If we can overcome the disadvantages, and choose the right form for specific circumstance, I strongly believe that language would be one of the strongest tools one can poses.