Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that students bear the full financial responsibility for their higher education expenses, the benefits will be assumed for the personal rather than societal purposes. However, I strongly disagree with this view because skilled labour force that drives economic growth and long-term social progress.

Individuals who have studied in university gain clear benefits. They can have greater lifetime earning, develop personal skills, and enhance social status. For example, people who graduate from university earn stable and comparatively higher incomes, contribute more in taxes to the national economy. But these benefits still create broader social returns, as higher tax contributions enhance public services. Therefore, although individuals clearly benefit, it would be short-sighted to argue that they alone should bear the entire financial burden of higher education.

Graduates, who typically contribute more in taxes over their lifetime, indirectly repay public investment. Thus, public investment in higher education fosters societal development directly and contributes to economic growth. For instance, an authority can fund essential public services by publicly generated funds, and the government invests in technological development. These developments promote socio-economic mobility and prevent widening inequality.

In conclusion, while some maintain that the financial burden of higher education should fall solely on students due to the personal nature of its rewards, I strongly disagree that this ignores the broader economic advantages a highly-educated populace provides to society.”