Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s contemporary world, students have easy access to informative data with the help of internet, leading to the argument that libraries are now becoming useless. While it is undeniable fact that internet have transformed the way student study, I partially agree with this viewpoint.

To commence with, the Internet offers a vast amount of information that can be accessed easily and often given free of charge. To be specific, e-books, online journals or educational platforms allow students to study anywhere and anytime, which makes the studying process quicker and more efficient. Moreover, students can access online platforms to acquire knowledge and stay informed about the groundbreaking information worldwide. In the past, people had to visit libraries and search through numerous books to find the information they needed, which was often time-consuming. However, with the appeal of digital platforms, students can simply search for a topic they need and read relevant materials instantly, without unnecessary effort. Ultimately, online platforms are often low-cost and do not require any specific sign-up. Specifically, libraries in most cases require a personal account, an age limit, or permission from parents, which can be overwhelming for most people. Online platforms are mostly signed up easily, with just one click giving access to everything.

On the other hand, libraries should not be disregarded. First and foremost, it is libraries that often creates calming atmosphere. In detail, in most libraries, there is a strict rule that there should not be any loud noise or even interacting normally is not allowed. This quiet atmosphere and focused environment improve one’s concentration and overall mental well-being. Furthermore, unlike these online programs, physical books are more available in libraries. These books prevent us from certain eye-related diseases. They also help students concentrate better, as there are no distractions from notifications or advertisements. In addition to this, libraries provide access to rare or old books that cannot be found online.

To conclude, while it is true that many children prefer to search online, libraries are also a source of knowledge.