Studies suggest that children spend more time watching TV than they did in the past and spend less on doing active or creative things. Why do you think it is the case? What measures and methods can be used to tackle with it?

Undoubtedly the quantum of time spent by children on television viewing has inclined over the past times. There are several reasons behind this change but the various steps taken to combat the issue cannot be ignored.

Firstly, in modern life, parents are too busy to play or educate their children and as a result, children are more inclined towards watching television. Absence of parents due to major lifestyle changes has made the children to be glued to the television screen. Secondly, everything available at the click of a button brings about a major change. Having developed a lot of interest in various serials and movies sitting at the comfort and luxury of home children love to stay indoors denying to go out doing other physical activities and involving themselves in other creative acts. For instance, as per an article published in The Minds journal, nearly 90% of children spend a lot of time doing unproductive activities like watching television and playing video games.

There are several methods that parents could take to solve the problems described above. The first measure is that children need to be motivated to be members of libraries,hobby clubs and other centers , which promote various activities such as dancing,drawing, running, playing sports or swimming. Also, parents need to sometimes push their kids to the playgrounds where they can have fun and play with their friends. Furthermore, adults need to spare sometime to play with their children and encourage them to do creative things at home, including painting, making crafts, playing musical instruments or writing poems.

In conclusion, some reasons behind childrenspending more time watching TV may be identified, and some simple solutions need to be taken to encourage them to do more active activities and creative things.