Sugary drinks should be made more expencive to encourage people to consume less sugar do you agree or disagree?

Sugary drinks, or as one can say, pop drinks, contain a huge amount of sugar. According to my perspective, they should be made more expensive so that the intake of sugar in an individual’s body is less. There are a lot of facts that made me agree on this statement, and I am going to summarize those facts in my essay.

Let’s come down to the main source of sugary drinks. Knowingly and unknowingly, people drink a lot of pop drinks on a daily basis. Anytime they dine out at a restaurant, instead of requesting a glass of water, they order a pop can. For example, many of my friends are addicted to energy drinks. If he/she wakes up early in the morning and feels sleepy, they would just go like, “I’ll just have an energy drink to make me awake.” But little do they know that these types of sugary drinks are destroying their health.

The more these products get expensive, the better. Right now, the prices of pop drinks are not expensive but rather cheap. It is human psychology as well: if you are thirsty, you tend to buy the most convenient drink you get. Some people neglect the fact that this is very dangerous and just keep purchasing it, even though it removes the hydration from our bodies. Now, if the same thing is expensive, an individual would think twice before purchasing it.

This saves a lot of people from diseases like diabetes. The intake of water would increase rapidly. And again, it is way much better than drinking something with almost 30–40% sugar every day.

To conclude this, I would say that increasing the price of sugary drinks would decrease the amount of people addicted to them. This will also help people to keep their sugar levels in control.