Sugary drinks should be made more expencive to encourage people to consume less sugar do you agree or disagree?

The overconsumption of sugar is a highly concerning problem nowadays, especially in drinks, specifically sodas. I agree that the government should encourage healthy eating habits, including the limitation of sugar intake in terms of sodas.

There has been a debate whether increasing the price of soda would reduce its sales, resulting in less sugar consumed.Soda being more unaffordable might discourage some people from buying them, for example, parents or teenagers. On the other hand, a hefty sum of people who are consuming sodas are grown adults who have a steady income. So, while they might complain about the rising price of sodas, it might not fully prevent them from consuming it less. The same can be said with cigarettes; even though it does not have a low price tag, smokers who are addicted would still purchase it because it is addictive. Similarly, high intakes of sugars are also known to give an addiction-like feeling, making it hard for people who regularly consume sugars because of the addiction factor of sugar.

So, the rising price of soda might discourage people to purchase it, but if said people that are addicted to sugar have limited access to soda, they might resort to another sugary food or beverage that are available on the market, since soda is only one of the few available food with highly concentrated sugar. Furthermore increasing most or all of the sale prices of sugary food is not an ideal solution.