Task 2: In many parts of the world, famous people are regarded as role models and they have an increasing influence on the young. Is this a positive or negative development?

In some regions of the world, famous people are especially considered “role models” to follow, and they have a growing impact on youngsters. In my opinion, this is a change for the worse.

There are several cases where individuals can benefit by following celebrities. When it is about famous people, social media influencers will come to our minds first. Influencers can affect young people’s opinions in positive ways too. There are several blogs, channels or pages that can teach things which young people do not learn from their school, parents or other older people. That can directly influence their view of life if the famous people they imitate from him or her are certain about what they are showing to society.

Despite these benefits, I would argue that the potential problems of this change are more significant in comparison. We all know that growing people have such a complex personality, and they do not know their morals, beliefs or standards yet. In this sensitive situation, it can be so risky for them to follow their famous “role models” just because they are famous. This may quietly damage their morals and beliefs since not all celebrities, influencers or other people are considered to be perfect for anybody to follow, so it is better to realise what their values are and then choose somebody to imitate if it is that necessary.

In conclusion, although this change can be seen as a positive development in some ways, it seems to me that the overall impact is more likely to be harmful for the reasons stated.