TASK 2 It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

The idea of giving children independence in decision making is believed to have more advantages. Although this notion may sound less sensible to a certain extent, I completely agree with it, as through this way parents can ensure children’s better personality development and be able to discover uncovered talents in them.

Probably unfavorable effects of care-free childhood might encourage some to disagree with the idea of allowing children to decide by themselves. One major negative experience is that children are likely to form bad habits because of their personal choices, with screen addiction serving as a stark example. Letting them choose the type of content they receive and applications they use daily may increase their dependency rate on smart devices. Apart from lack of activity during the day, this addiction is prone to cause sever health problems such as eye strain and obesity in the early years of children’s lives.

Nevertheless, I believe that creating an environment where children can make decisions on their own has more advantages. The first positive impact is associated with their character development, as early independence is linked to more resilient personality in later life. This type of well-disciplined character can be earned when children face and learn to handle failures after independently making choices in their studies and relationships with others. Over years, a trained character will help them stay motivated and be committed to their jobs regardless of upcoming downs in life, which is nothing but the ultimate key to success.

The chance of discovering children’s hidden skills is another benefit of independent childhood. Giving them permission to pursue their interests may play a huge role in finding out and inspire children’s talents earlier, increasing their opportunities to achieve wild success in the future. Leonel Messi – one of the most skilled ballers in the history of football- is a clear example of this argument, whose great career started as an interest in a corner of Argentina, and his parents also did not set limits on his preferences. Therefore, next world stars may just need freedom of choice like Messi had.

In conclusion, despite skepticism about giving children independence in their decisions, I continue to support this notion due to its upsides ranging from better personality to an early discovery of talents