In many modern societies, the increasing reliance on automated artificial intelligence systems is leading to a decline in human critical thinking skills. What are the reasons for this trend and what steps can be taken to prevent it?

Nowadays, automated artificial intelligence has been rapidly integrated into day-to-day life, inherent consequences of which bother the society. It is widely believed that cognitive flexibility and critical reasoning are therefore impaired. This is mainly caused by the deficiency of motivation among learners who fully rely on artificial intelligence, which might be solved by educational systems through the personalization of the studying process.

First and foremost, artificial intelligence has provided its users with an unlimited access to information, as well as opportunities to complete any given assignments. Some students experience demotivation or hardships in handling challenges when studying on their own, which is the reason why they typically resort to artificial intelligence. For instance, some people may not entirely understand the material due to the wrong approach of teaching, leading them to the application of artificial technologies in order to maintain the proper performance. Meanwhile, others lack a desire to put efforts and strive for profound information, shifting the responsibility to artificial intelligence.

To address this issue, educational systems should adapt teaching methods to students’ abilities and personal interests. To illustrate, some individuals struggle with processing audial information, whereas others cannot obtain visual data. Therefore, the division of students based on their suitable ways to be educated might mitigate the need for full reliance on artificial intelligence. Alternatively, students who are unwilling to work may be stimulated by an appropriate studying environment. A case in point is that some youngsters prefer collaborative work to individual research, or that they are encouraged by a competitive spirit. Thus, personal aspiration to improve, apply, and exchange knowledge can prompt students to the independent and rewarding way of studying.

To conclude, the dependence on automated technologies while studying may be strengethened by either a need for such help, or by demotivation. Both aspects are managed through specific modifications in educational methods, or creating personal incentives to immerse in studies.