TASK 2 It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

It is argued that an effective way to form personal judgement and action in young people is early exposure to responsibility. I completely agree with this statement, because when a child gains a sense of independence he or she develops mentally and lays the foundation for adulthood.

Self-decisions exercise personal choices which stimulates cognitive flexibility from an early age. This is because once the developing brain is exposed to personal thinking and has to make decisions, young individuals simultaneously encourage problem-solving abilities. As a result, by thinking independently, it is likely that youth will shape both their own opinions and advanced cognitive skills. For example, a child can be allowed to choose how to organise their daily routines , thereby learning basic human skill such organisation.

From a future perspective, promoting self-independence among children teaches them to be responsible and mature in their choices. That is to say, parents can prepare them for real-life challenges in childhood, as early-developed autonomy plays a crucial role in forming well-judged decisions that are essential for adult life. Consequently, such individuals tend to show greater emotional maturity and gain an advantage over their peers. For instance, as a recent survey indicates, in China, schools, where a minor’s personal views were respected and welcomed, produced graduates who adapted to adult life quickly and demonstrated a higher tendency towards early entrepreneurship.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that nurturing independence from an early age can consequently help young people succeed in mental development and in future life challenges.