TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. I believe that this problem can cause both positive and negative developments. However, I think that its advantages outweigh disadvantages.

To begin with, health problems are the main concern in the developing society. I believe that switching medicines or treatments enables right care at the right time. People tend to shift for alternative treatments because of poor care delivery including delays, procrastination and lack of trust. Additionally, when it comes to emergency situations, people can choose alternatives because it is not always guaranteed that regular treatment places or doctors could offer such kind of methodology or advanced medical equipment. For instance, when it comes to serious health problems like cardiac arrest or accidents, it is better to take nearby hospitals for initial emergency treatments like CPR or critical care diagnosis. Thus, alternative choices in hospitals or treatments are the best, especially when it comes to emergency situations.

In contrast, switching medicines and treatments can result in certain drawbacks such as side effects, additional charges or even cause organ theft. Sometimes, medicines which are either unsuitable or allergic can be prescribed by unknown hospitals, which results in severe bad side effects. On the other hand, without proper concerns or knowledge about the hospitals or healthcare providers; concern forms are signed, which lead to unauthorized organ theft. For example, in India, many people lost their organs either knowingly or unknowingly by various unknown hospitals or care delivery centres. Thus this problem has certain disadvantages.

To conclude, although alternative medicines or treatments can cause certain disadvantages, it is difficult to ignore its beneficial factors like right care at the right time and faster emergency treatments. Hence, I believe that the advantages of this problem outweigh its negative factors.