Technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. Do you agree or disagree?

Technology is developing with such a rapid speed that new types of devices are constantly being born every second, minute, and hour. It has affected all aspects of society’s lives, bringing benefits to contribute to people’s lives. However, along with its rising popularity, concerns have also arisen about technology’s negative effects on society. Many argue that it brings more drawbacks than advantages. I only partially agree with this statement.

On one hand, technology has had positive impacts on people’s lives. Firstly, it has provided our lives with a large amount of new entertainment such as movies, e-books, and video games. This has allowed people to not travel far to find pleasure as they can enjoy themselves at home. Secondly, it has brought about a large variety of resources that travel beyond traditional textbooks. Its greatest product, the Internet, has helped many citizens, especially students, gain valuable knowledge, which has contributed to making their lives more lively. Thirdly, it has offered employees and students alike access to useful tools like online learning and online working. Pupils and workers will not have to travel to learn and work but instead learn and work online alongside artificial intelligence, which has provided certain help.

On the other hand, technology also has its downsides. One of its detriemental effects is on mental and physical health. Large numbers of people have been reported to be addicted to the Internet and video games. This has increased many health issues in people, most of them eye problems, and negative developments in personality. The second adverse effect is that it causes distractions. Over-reliance on technology can lead to people checking notifications once a minute and can deter people from completing their supposed tasks and responsibilities. Last but not least, technology can result in reinforced bias. People may be judged based on their wealth and whether they have the latest and most expensive devices. As not all residents currently have access to technology, those who do not may easily be targets of discrimination.

In conclusion, technology plays a vital role in economic growth and in developing people’s living standards. However, it must be managed wisely to maximize benefits. Governments, companies, and each individual must work together to build a safe virtual environment for all citizens.