The benefits of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh the drawbacks. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The introduction of English as an official language benefits people in various ways, while there is a statement on whether the benefits will outweigh the drawbacks or not. This essay strongly agree that English language’s benefits are crucial, comparing to the other negative aspects.

To start off, The impact of cultural backgrounds of every country has been represented through their national’s languages, leading to the dificulties on communication, so English has been introduced as a medium language by the western countries. Moreover, english not only allows an individual to interpret the meaning of the speech from various languages, but it also create a new occupation as the interpreters,an individual who translate other languages to a medium language. For example, in the international conferences, simultaneous interpretations are used to translate the host’s speech, which will allow all participants to understand the whole meeting.

Additionally, the medium language has been used by diplomatic purposes. The international relations among various nations are likely to develop through speech and treaty, using different languages might create the misunderstandings from translation, so English language usage may lower the risk of miscommunication. For example, Spanish and Chinese sentences might not refer to the same clarification because the differences on the underlying meanings of their idioms and phrases.

The use of english as major language is not likely to generate any communication barriers, assuming that every individual knows English. However, in some territories, residents might not be educated in the main language, leading to the only drawback. For example, some countries in the Africa where the locals communicate through thousands of tribal languages.

In conclusion, this essay agrees that the benefits generated by using English as medium of communication is outweighed the only disadvantage. Therefore, every nation should promote the English for communication course as a fundamental subject.