The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few years, the emphasis on road safety has been growing. Consequently, a policy of making drivers take driving tests annually has been suggested to improve the safety of roads. In this essay, I will explain why I advocate for the implementation of this policy.

Firstly, asking drivers to take driving tests every year is important due to frequent technological advancements. To appeal to customers, car manufacturers try to produce cars with new advanced features like lane-keeping assist and adaptive cruise control, which can significantly improve road safety if used correctly. However, not all drivers may be utilizing their car’s safety features correctly or to their full potential. Regular tests can help identify and correct misuse or misunderstanding, leading to better safety outcomes.

Secondly, requesting an annual retake of driving tests from drivers is necessary because of updates to Driver Legislation. The transport department often introduces changes to driver regulations in order to mainstream traffic legislation. Therefore, to ensure that drivers are keeping up with changes in road legislation, it is necessary to convince drivers to take driving tests each year. Being informed about these changes is crucial because ignorance of drivers can lead to misunderstandings, which often result in road collisions.

In conclusion, I believe that prompting drivers to take driving tests regularly is effective at making roads safer because it ensures that drivers are knowledgeable about advances in technology and road regulations.