The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that to tackle environmental issues, the price of fuels for vehicles should be raised by the governments. Although I understand why the charge of fuel should be rosen, I believe that more solutions are required to address environmental problems.

On the one hand, I believe that raising fuels’ cost of fuel is understandable for several reasons. Putting the rise on fuels’ cost can help alleviate the pollution by discouraging road commuters from using their private vehicles, public transportations instead. In particular, If there is a decreasing number of people using their own vehicles, this one can help reduce the amount of carbon dioxide from the transport releasing to the atmosphere. Moreover, it also contributes to improving the air quality which can affect people’s health.

On the other hand, I also believe that more radical and long term solutions are required to solve environmental issues. Firstly, the governments should invest and allocate a greater state budget on alternative energy such as solar energy and wind energy because these energies are abundant and they never run out. Hence, these energies do not generate greenhouse gasses and they play an important part for sustainable development. Secondly, people should be encouraged to use mass production and lead a green lifestyle. For instance, people should recycle products and avoid utilizing short life spent to protect the environment.

In conclusion, while I support the view that the cost of fuels for vehicles should be raised to address environmental phenomenons, I think there are more useful ways for people to protect the environment.