The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In this contemporary world, there is a widespread perception that joining team sports at school is the paramount way for children to learn how to interact with others. Although team sports can teach children to cooperate, I believe that there are still other school subjects which are equally beneficial.

Sports activities, on the one hand, allow children to assist each other, since those activities are sometimes challenging for young individuals, so they turn to others. For example, in many Uzbek schools, there are frequent sport competitions where pupils should work as a team in order to win. Not only do they help each other physically, but they also motivate, by boosting their spirits and confidence. Take running as a salient example, while running, more often than not, children quickly get exhausted and start giving up, yet their teammates help them by shouting ‘You can do it” and “You are capable of running and do not give up”, which immediately boosts their self-esteem.

On the other hand, people should not overlook other subjects which can also improve students’ cooperation. Perhaps the most obvious one is mathematics. In other words this subject is one of the most challenging ones in a school curriculum for most children. In many schools worldwide, while taking maths exams, students struggle with complex questions and formulas, and eventually they turn to others for whom this subject is a cup of tea. By doing so, not only do they interact with each other, but they may also gain knowledge and become aware of certain formulas which can be beneficial in the long-term. Another subject can be drama classes, where pupils have to interact with other in order to create a fascinating scene. For example, they should make speeches and share their own ideas, resulting in constant conversations with other students.

To conclude, while some people argue that the best way to strengthen cooperation among students is through team sports, I believe other subjects, including but not limited to, mathematics and acting classes, can play equally crucial roles.