The consumption of the world's resources (oil, water, etc.) is increasing at a dangerous rate. What are the causes and solutions?

These days, the world has witnessed an alarming increase in the depletion of natural resources such as oil, freshwater, and so on. This essay will first outline the underlying causes of this phenomenon, before suggesting some viable measures to mitigate the status quo.

There are two main reasons associated with this phenomenon. The first reason is that resource consumption at an accelerated rate stems from overpopulation, particularly in developing countries. Moreover, industrialization also means a rise in fuel consumption. This is mainly due to fossil fuels playing a crucial role in the rapid development of worldwide industries. Additionally, alternatives to traditional energy resources such as solar and wind power demand enormous funds and investments from the government or big conglomerates in order to exploit and use them. For example, building a wind electricity project requires a huge amount of money, so this work can only be conducted in developed countries which have economic potential.

Fortunately, there are several measures that could be taken to tackle the aforementioned problems. Firstly, it is imperative that the government introduces strict regulations and taxes on industries which are using finite sources of energy. Indeed, if stricter regulations were imposed on industries, they would not squander natural resources. Furthermore, the authorities should invest more in research programs for alternate sources of energy. This could be carried out by the government going into scientific research projects on renewable sources which can help humans to reduce energy costs due to old energy sources being reused. Thus, citizens who have low income would still be likely to access and use energy sources.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the alarming increase in the depletion of world resources, and steps need to be taken by the government and individuals. It can be predicted that with appropriate funding and implementation of these suggested methods, this issue would be alleviated in the future.