The decline in the quality of life within major cities is a growing concern in many countries. What are the potential causes and what solutions could be implemented to address this issue?

It is widely believed that living in big cities is less fulfilling than ever before. Thus, the reducing quality of life has sparked considerable concern amidst the globe. This essay will shed light on the roots of this pressing issue, followed by some feasible approaches to be taken into account.

Firstly, overpopulation counts as a major cause of alleviating living satisfaction. The rapid population growth can be attributed to the influx of migrants. An increasing number of people are heading for capital cities in search of more job opportunities and promotion prospects. While economically, migrants contribute to the labor force, they can also add strain on public services. Available resources fail to meet the demand, suggesting a lack of sufficient healthcare and accommodation. Besides, overpopulation entails serious societal distress. As unemployment and homelessness persists, the overall crime rate is on the rise. Being in a state of financial predicament forces many to infringe regulations. In other words, crime is rampant in overcrowded cities in order to pay a high cost of living. Hence, it is self-evident that criminality is devastating for the security of public spaces.

Secondly, fortunately, there still exist certain measures to combat these thorny problems. To commence with, much attention should be drawn to efficient border management policies. Massive migratory movements could be controlled by permitting only safe and beneficial immigration for the host cities. Immigrants’ identities should be more closely examined before entry. In addition, governments should place greater emphasis on urban planning to provide adequate fundamental services. Upgrading urbanization is essential to respond to the demands of growing populations and improve the overall quality of life. On top of that, comprehensive efforts should be made to prevent crimes. To begin with, while generating more job opportunities is key to tackling the problem of unemployment, subsidy and shelter programs assisting homeless people should not be overlooked. Meanwhile, stringent laws would act as a deterrent against criminal mentality.

All things considered, while there are constant struggles for citizens in capital cities, the problems are not insurmountable and could be addressed as long as the aforementioned solutions are executed promptly.