The decline in the quality of life within major cities is a growing concern in many countries. What are the potential causes and what solutions could be implemented to address this issue?

In many parts of the world, developed urban areas have witnessed a deterioration in terms of life quality. This situation can be attributed to overpopulation and pollution, which can be tackled by area expansion and environmental improvement.

To begin with, there are two major reasons why living in the city is becoming less desirable. Firstly, the incredible influx of people to cities have given rise to a wide range of problems, chief among which is the housing shortage and increased unemployment rates. This puts a large number of urban residents at a disadvantage, when they struggle to find an adequate house or a decent job. Secondly, pollution undeniably plays a key role in exacerbating the life quality in metropolises, given the importance of environment in people’s lives. For example, in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, a majority of local citizens, whose health is negatively affected by serious air pollution, have reported a significant increase in their level of dissatisfaction.

In order to tackle this issue, the city planners should consider investing in the expansion of urban zones as well as environmental protection. Granted, one of the most effective solutions to the lack of houses and jobs is to increase the area of cities, so that there would be more space for new buildings for either residential or commercial purposes. This can be achieved by taking advantage of the surrounding lands or empty spaces within the cities, which requires exact calculations and enormous investment. Another practical approach is to improve the urban settings by launching awareness campaigns or imposing strict laws about environmental preservation. For instance, in Hanoi city, a new restriction on the use of petrol or diesel vehicles has been recently applied to limit the amount of fumes, resulting in an apparent improvement in the city’s atmosphere.

In conclusion, the fact that the quality of life in big cities is deteriorating can be explained by the consequences of overpopulation and environmental contamination. To cope with this problem, expanding the urban areas and improving the local environment are two viable approaches.