The decline in the quality of life within major cities is a growing concern in many countries. What are the potential causes and what solutions could be implemented to address this issue?

In the contemporary era, the standard of living is declining among those people living in major cities. There are a number of causes for this situation, but certain measures could be taken to mitigate this problem. This essay will discuss the causes and suggest viable solutions.

The two main reasons for reduced quality of life in metro areas are air pollution and traffic problems. Even though cities are expanding significantly, air pollution levels are eventually increasing. For example, according to a survey residents living in these contaminated regions are suffering from serious critical illness issues. Besides this, the other cause is traffic congestion. Most of the people commute daily using their own vehicles instead of using public transport. For instance, humans in developing countries utilize personal cars to office rather than depending on transit to save time.

The two major solutions to this situation are decentralization of development and increasing public transportation options. The development in a country should be distributed to different areas, despite restricting to only few towns. To illustrate, the government should spread administration to different to various cities in a province or state. Next, the government should increase the number of buses and trains for easy commute to their residents. To elaborate, if there are more number of buses and trains people tend to utilize them since they feel comfortable and also to save money. Implementing these two solutions will improve the air condition and reduce the traffic issues.

To summarize, pollution and transportation problems can be reduced by decentralization of development and improving public transports. The above essay has discussed the causes of bad quality of life in cities and the solutions for improvement.