The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extend do you agree?

In the contemporary era, the role of science and technology is undeniable, as an increasing number of countries in the world have consistently competed in the realm of technological innovation to maximize their development. This has led to an ongoing debate about whether their educational systems should allocate more resources to teaching science-related subjects compared to others. I strongly agree with this statement, although I also hold some conflicting views, which are detailed below.

First and foremost, there is no doubt that scientific and technological advancements have contributed to the development of a country across most aspects. It is evident that modern people in many parts of the world have gradually transitioned to or fully adopted modern labor tools and modern production equipment in order to save labor, time, and costs. For instance, North America and Europe are two prominent global regions that have mechanized their production means and maximized crop yields, with the aim of reducing costs and increasing output. This results in a strong claim that teaching science and technology in schools should be thoroughly prioritized.

Nevertheless, governments should also consider other resources, which are potentially capable of significantly enriching the economy to an extent no less than that of science and technology. It is evident that, alongside the immense power offered by science and technology, cultural soft power has increasingly become one of the main focuses of many countries’ financial investments and human resources. One compelling piece of evidence of this assessment could be observed in France, Italy, and South Korea. As these countries have succeeded in promoting their products on a worldwide scale through many renowned fashion and cosmetics brands, such as Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Gucci, and Innisfree, these goods have generated enormous profits for the mentioned countries, despite being derived from non-scientific fields. Especially, thanks to the significant effect of Hallyu cultural waves, including fashion, movies, and music, South Korea has successfully been exporting its culture to many Asian countries and others, generating billion-dollar revenues.

All things considered, the authorities should not overlook the importance of teaching science at schools, yet economic potential from non-scientific subjects could be beneficial for the development of countries as well. I hope that if a government thoroughly understands the roles of both perspectives mentioned and invests in them appropriately, the long-term benefits they will bring to the country’s economy will be tremendous.