The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree?

The implementation of smoking bans by the authorities in common areas is, without a doubt, a very controversial issue. While some would say that this would be against individual liberty, I strongly agree with this proposal. This essay will be discussing the benefits of prohibiting smoking and how the need for public health protection outweighs personal choice.

To start with, most non-smokers living with or near a smoker would encounter passive smoking. This type of smoking is proved to be even more health-deteriorating than active smoking, as it can cause lung cancer, heart diseases, and more. Secondhand smoke is particularly more harmful to children, as their respiratory system is still developing and can lead to serious health issues, and in the worst cases, death. This is why banning smoking can be especially helpful to people around smokers.

Furthermore, forbidding smoking in outdoor places is also an effective idea to help people detox from tobacco. If they actually valued their loved ones’ health, they would use this ban as a way to wean themselves off of smoking and slowly get better. They would try to learn how to distance themselves from cigarettes and would become better at learning how to stop themselves from ruining not just their own but also their family’s physical health.

However, this ban would also mean that there would be less freedom for smokers. It’s one’s own choice to start smoking, and it’s one’s own choice to stop smoking. You can’t force everyone to be in a specific mold, as humans are supposed to be different. Nevertheless, if the person truly values the well-being of themselves and others, they would try to become a better version of themselves and change for the better.

To sum up, despite the concerns regarding limitations of free will, the evidence this essay provides has strongly cemented the need for a comprehensive ban on smoking in public venues. The government must prioritize the health of its citizens from secondhand smoke, ensuring that their residents can live a happy, robust life.