The government should invest in teaching science subjects rather than other subjects for a country's development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been much discussion on what subject should be emphasied in school, some argue that science subjects are more important and therefore the government should invest in them rather than other subjects. While the importance of these subjects to a country’s growth prospects is undenible, I believe that other subjects also play a crucial role, thus investment should be made equally to all aspects of education.

A lot of supporter for science subjects pointed out that by teaching more scientific knowledge in schools, we can build a more skilled workforce. By putting a greater emphasis on math, physics and similar subjects, there will be more labour in high-tech industries, which increases economic activity and speed up national development. Take China as an example, coming out of World War Two and a civil war, China was one of the poorest nations on earth, but through pragmatic policy changes and a focus on education, the country has become the de-facto manufacturing hub of the world and the second biggest economy overall. Investing in sciencetific edcuation can also incentivized more talented workers to stay and contribute to the country. It’s very common nowadays that students in a developing nation like Vietnam move to another country like the United States in search of better education and job opportunities, when this happens, a growing economy will lose the highly skilled workers it needs to drive growth and progress.

However, it’s not to say that other subjects are not important and I think governments should invest more in all parts of edcuation. It’s universally agreed by students that science subjects are difficult, and a lot of them struggle with math and physics in school while thrive in other. If we put too much focus on subjects that few students can keep up with, other students will not have the resources and the help they need to succed in what they do best. Diversifying investment in education can also make an economy more flexible in case of a crisis. During the COVID-19 pandemic, many fields struggled to survive and economies that put all their eggs in one basket are the one to suffer the most, while other bounced back soon after the crisis subsided.

In conclusion, while the importance of scientific subjects is undisputable, It’s also very important that we make investment in all fields of education to ensure that development and progress happen at the fastest pace and no one is left behind.