The government should pay for large pieces of art for public display in outdoor places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued whether or not governments should allocate resources to public arts and statues. While I agree that this suggestion could bring some positive impacts on society, I believe that it will require a high cost for building and maintenance.

On the one hand, public art paintings and sculptures can have profound impacts on boosting the development of a city regarding economy and aesthetic appeal. Firstly, building such unique and aesthetic pieces of art can attract a huge number of visitors to the city, promoting tourism growth. To be more specific, people make a decision to pay a visit to a travel destination mainly due to its beauty. For example, thousands of travelers flock to Da Nang city annually because it offers more attractive tourist destinations, allowing tourists can immerse themselves in historical sites and gain more insights about the cities’ history and cultures. Hence, this leads to more profits for services providers such as hotels and restaurants. Secondly, places will become more beautiful and richer in cultural values if there is public art on display. Some public arts can serve as heritage and values, fostering a sense of pride among residents. This can be seen in Vietnam where several sculptures of heroes are displayed in squares or roundabouts, so that their citizens can remember the contributions made by those people.

On the other hand, I believe that these public works of art will require a lot of land and construction cost. The first cause is that, such art things will be planned to build on available area in the city center capturing the attention of city-dwellers and tourists. However, land funds are scarce in most of city center, making it challenging to find suitable spaces for these art installations. Furthermore, this trend will incur substantial expenses for both construction and maintenance. It is true that exposing to outdoors and harsh weather conditions such as rain, snow and sunlight can cause damage to the appearance of these installations. Therefore, this issue may demand a large budget allocation and effort for preservation with the aim to mantain the aesthetic appeal.

In conclusion, while I agree to the point that building big works of art can bring economic growth to cities, I still believe this phenomenon will entail a substantial financial burden.