The growth of online shopping will lead to all shops in towns & cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. However, I do not agree with this statement, as physical shops still has their very own irreplaceable advantages.

Firstly, not all people in the community can have adequate access to the internet. Elderly and kids often do online shopping mainly due to the lack of internet access and relevant knowledge. They may not have computers or mobile phones, which hinder them from doing online shopping. Meanwhile, they may not have sufficient understanding of the terms and conditions that are listed on the website. Also, some of them may not own a valid credit card, which limit their available payment methods. Therefore, they tend to purchase their own items in physical shops while enabling them to use various payment methods such as cash and vouchers.

Secondly, not all items can be purchased through online shops. Some items, such as gas and petroleum, are prohibited to be sold online due to safety concerns. In this circumstance, people will still need to go to physical shops and purchase it.

Thirdly, it is time-consuming and much more expensive when compared to shopping in local stores. Extra delivery time and certain logistics charge will be involved. According to recent research in Hong Kong, almost extra 20% of charge will be needed for delivery. It will definitely be impacting prices. People who wish to purchase their items immediately and wisely may therefore not consider utilizing online shopping platforms.

To conclude, I reckon that the growth of online shopping will not lead to all shops in towns and cities closing one day.