The impact of social media has increased tremendously in people’s lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

Social media has transfomed the world and people’s lives in the very recent few years.

From Facebook, twitter to tiktok, each of them is offering diverse and unique set of features. Although Social media platforms and services are becoming increasingly popular nowadays, they are still double-edged weabons that have to be used carefully.

There is a range of advantages and disadvantages of social media platforms for individual users and even for the scale of countries. First, let’s list some of the advantages. Social media seamlessly connect people from all over the world and keep them exposed to the latest pieces of news and updates. In addition, they open a whole new room for marketing campaigners to reach out to their clients instantly and flexibly. On top of that, country level descisions over whole populations can effected based on the demographic data collected from these platforms. On the other hand, the list of disadvantages can be disappointing for some people. For example, social media users are often addicted to the kind of content suggessed by the highly advanced artificially intelligent recommendation systems. Moreover, doom scrolling, which is a widely observed negative habit among social media users, is increasing at alarming rates, specially among younger generations. Last but not least, demographic information about whole populations can be used very negatively to steer the public support and interests. For example, during the latest US elections, a software and data mining company was accused of altering the public support towards a certain candidate using social media advertisement tools and services. In brief, social media platforms has become an integral part of people’s lives and our job is to get best of it.