The increase in food production owes much to fertilizers and better machinery, but some people think that it has a negative impact on human health and community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current era, the boost in food production can be attributed to the use of fertilizers and enhanced machinery. While this development is predominantly advantageous on some grounds, I reckon that it can pose a threat to human overall well-being and society.

One valid reason for my agreement is that mass production of food based on chemical stimulation and fertilizers may overshadow traditional agriculture, triggering the surging decline of small-scale farms. This shift may deprive million farmers of their jobs, adversely impacting the rural economy.

Adding further credence to my belief is that the overuse of synthetic fertilizers results in soil degradation, loss of biodiversity, and water contamination due to the toxic components absorbed into the environment. Moreover, the excessive consumption of processed food that accumulates chemicals on a long-term basis has been the main culprit of diseases such as hormone disruption, neurological disorders, and other serious health issues. Therefore, humans’ overall well-being can be adversely deteriorated, leading to increased susceptibility to infections and pandemics.

However, I concede that the rise in food production is indispensable for addressing global hunger. With the rapidly growing population in today’s world, the utilization of pesticides and fertilizers can supply soil with essential nutrients for cultivation, fostering higher yield crops. This, coupled with modernized production, can alleviate time, effort and resources to produce a plethora of food, making them universally attainable to residents.

In brief, notwithstanding that intensive agriculture practices can do wonders for resolving the scarcity of food, I believe that this can trigger health and social risks.