The increase in people’s life expectancy means that they have to work older to pay for their retirement. One alternative is that people start to work at a younger age. Is this alternative a positive or negative development?

With constant improvement in health science and technology, people’s lifespan are increasing at an unprecedented pace. As a result, many have to work for longer years before enjoying their retirement. One solution is beginning one’s career at a younger age. In my opinion, this is a good alternative to “working until you’re 80” approach

On one side, kickstarting one’s career early could provide them with early experience, which will help them get ahead of the competition. If Sorichiro Honda hadnt start tinkering with cars at such a young age, then he wouldnt have found the passion and expertise to create Honda – an internationally well-respected brand, known for creating the most reliable machine we ever seen. While it is increasingly harder to replicate Honda’s example due to monopolization and market domination of international conglomerates, starting work early still can put you in a good position to find better employment, salary and wages. And if you worked hard enough, you might retire your forties!

While there are tremendous weight on the “work early is better” argument, there are still drawbacks we still need to consider. Early employment could bring huge pressure on the young employee, which could lead to mental strain and disorders such as anxiety, stress or depression

In conclusion, although early work does have it’s downsides, the benefits still are a compelling factor, making this alternative a good development