The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

In modern society, production of consumer goods has been growing dramatically. While this growth improves the living quality of people’s life, and economic growth, it also causes severe damages to the natural environment. This essay will discuss the main causes of this problem and suggest possible solutions.

One of the primary reasons for environmental damage is the excessive use of natural recourses. Many customer products, such as electronic devices, plastic items, and clothing, require large amounts of raw materials, such as, metals, oil, and wood. The extraction of these resources often leads to deforestation, water pollution, and the lost of natural habitats. In addition, factories which manufacture this customer goods release huge amounts of harmful gases and chemicals into water, which contributes to environmental pollution and climate change.

Another major reason of this problem is the culture of overconsumption, indifferent individual, and government. In some countries, people tend to buy things they do not actually need under the influence of marketing, and social media. The media has huge impact on overconsumption, giving just one example, fast changing trends force people to be up to date and buy things that are not even remembered after one use. And as a result, we are wasting recourses of Earth on useless things. Additionally, people just do not care about the consequences of their actions, and for government money is priority. If people do not take an accountability of their actions, and government keeps promoting businesses which are not in charge of their harmful actions, the outcome will be disastrous.

Naturally, tackling these problems are not going to be easy. Both government and individuals should take responsibility. governments can introduce stricter rules for manufacturers, and individuals. For instance, industries should be required reduce emissions, and for individuals, they should be taught through mass media about the value of nature and, how they can help maintain natural resources by recycling, riding bikes, and so on.

In conclusion, the rapid growth in consumer goods production damages the environment mainly because of excessive resource extraction and overconsumption. However, through stronger government policies and more responsible consumer behavior, this problem can be reduced.