The increased world demand for oil and gas has made it necessary for locating these sources in remote and untouched natural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging these natural areas?

It is undeniable that the world is increasingly demanding a vast amount of energy resources such as oil and natural gas in today’s era. Consequently, the drilling for these resources has become a significant source of income for people around the world. At the same time, this phenomenon has caused increased pressure on the global environment. Therefore, I firmly believe that the disadvantages of this phenomenon outweigh the advantages.

It is irrefutable that the extraction of natural resources like oil and gas hosts several benefits, such as the industrial revolution, which will also help citizens get employment opportunities. Among fossil fuels, oil has a high energy density and is easily available to produce various forms of energy. Moreover, the drilling of oil from the underground creates more gasoline supplies. As a result, it also reduces fuel prices. Overall, these natural resources contribute to the economic growth and sustainable development of the country.

However, the primary disadvantage of extracting these resources is that they will cause significant environmental damage. In addition, there are detrimental adverse effects on nature, such as global warming and climate change, due to the extraction of natural resources. The excessive use of fossil fuels, and oil and gas extraction leads to a surge in global temperatures affecting green areas. Therefore, exploitation of the green regions and drilling of natural resources will threaten humankind as more and more diseases will spread quickly, affecting human health. Subsequently, the ecosystem will be disturbed due to human intervention.

To reiterate, although the extraction of natural resources has certain benefits, it also has a wide range of drawbacks to the ecosystem, which outweighs the benefits. Thus, in my opinion, humans should stop exploring undiscovered lands to extract natural resources and search for alternative sources.